Is a money order or Western Union payment safe?

1. Hi all!
    I am pretty new at selling on eBay and usually I only take a confirmed payment though paypal. However, I have a buyer who says he/she can only pay through a money order or western union. The sale is a final sale, so is it safe to allow this kind of payment? help :sad: !

2. I know Money Orders are safe because they are paid for up front. It's not like a check where they draw from an account. She/he has to actually pay the total amount to whoever is issuing the money order.

I have never used Western Union, but I know many people use it.

3. I won't recommend either but if you have to, accept USPS MO Only or let the MO clear in bank acct first. Than send item because some MO's can be counterfeit and you bank would accept it than later deduct the amount because the MO was fake. Western Union, definte No, No...

4. I'm with boku. Money orders can and have been widely counterfeited. I would recommend having them use the USPS money order. It has very specific security features that the counterfeiters have not succeeded in duplicating. However, there are plenty of counterfeit USPS money orders. So when you receive one, you need to check for all the security features and also check for it on the Federal Reserve website database. Here is more detailed information:
    http://www.usps.com/postalinspectors/mofeatur.htm
    http://www.frbservices.org/Retail/pdf/USPSMoneyOrderVerificationInstructions.pdf

5. I accept money orders, and I take them directly to the post office to cash, and only then do I ship. Western Union scares me.