Is a Cashiers Check safer than ....

1. a money order? I have agreed to buy a purse on eBay, and they will not accept Paypal. I've never paid by either money order or a cashiers check before to a seller on eBay...only used Paypal.

This person wants paid by money order only. Any guesses as to why? Something about this makes me suspicious, but I'm fairly new to this, and maybe I'm being unduly suspicious. I wrote her back and asked if a cashiers check would be acceptable (as was the case when I clicked on "Pay by money order or Cashiers Check"), and I haven't heard back from her. I got notification by eBay that the seller wanted payment by money order only.

Ebay (plus people on this forum) have advised that paying by money order is risky, but no one has mentioned Cashiers checks. Any 'red flags' here? Any risks that you know of with Cashiers checks? The seller has a 100% good feedback with 400 plus feedback remarks, which sound good.

Thanks so much for your thoughts.
  2. NO! They are exactly the same, one just requires you to type their name in at the bank (cashiers) and the other you write out yourself (money order).
  3. That's really what I thought, but I'm just wondering why they are so adamant about wanting a money order, rather than a cashiers check. I've already agreed to do by one or the other, so I'm stuck with that.

Any idea - from their standpoint - on why they want a money order over a cashiers?

Thanks for answering. :smile:
  4. Weird! LOL!
    There must be some reasonable explantion?

I accept both . . . interesting.
  5. I *just heard from her - finally - on this question and she nows says a cashiers check will be fine. ??? on why the delay, but alls well that ends well. (hopefully:smile:)