Increasing Breastmilk supply?

1. I've been breastfeeding exclusively for a couple of months now, and I'm wondering how you would go about increasing your milk supply? I've heard fenugreek and oatmeal helps. Anyone ever try these tricks? How did it go?

Also, when he was first born and had to stay in the NICU for a couple of weeks, I'd pump bottles and bottles of milk for him each day, and the nurses commented on what a great supply I had. Now, when I try to pump milk for him I get probably an ounce - total. So, I'm wondering why is it so difficult for me to pump?

Any advice is welcome! Thanks! :tup:
  2. Go to the health food store and buy some Mother's Milk Tea. The brand I use is by Traditional Medicinals. Most health food stores carry it and it will help you produce lots of good healthy milk. I noticed a difference within 2 days. Drink 3 cups a day for a few days and you will definitely see and feel a difference. I just gave my cousin a few boxes as part of her baby shower gift.

Hope that helps!

ETA: What type of pump are you using? Is it a hospital grade pump?
  3. yes, try the herbal tea supplements, but it could be that your let down is more tied to the baby now than it was previously.

Are you working or a stay at home mom? if you are working, when you are home with baby, try to pump on the opposite side the baby is nursing. Don't worry, you aren't stealing from the baby! When the baby gets the milk down, pump from the other side for a natural let down "catch". Then, you can see how much you are producing.

Also, if it does seem like your milk supply is dwindling, encourage baby to nurse more frequently and longer - no pacifiers.

Lastly, if it seems your milk supply is fine (baby seems satisfied, pumping while breastfeeding results in a good amount, then see how you can change HOW you pump... the machine, the settings, where you sit, what you think about, how long you do it etc.