Include salary requrement in cover letter?

1. Just wondering if anyone else has done this... I'm trying to apply to this company that has a listing on Monster.com as well as their company's website. On Monster.com it says to include the salary requirement while on the website it doesn't mention this. I feel like it is coming on strong including it even with slipping in that it was asked for through Monster.com, but I don't want to leave it out entirely because it might look like I wasn't paying attention...

I've never done this before so I'm hoping someone else can give me some input that this is okay to do.

Thanks!

2. I have never stated salary expectations in a cover letter regardless of whether or not they ask for it. I say something like "My salary expecations are negotiable and would be based on the total compensation package including benefits."

3. same as bnjj, I don't include salary expectations as well. There is always a possibility for negotiation.

4. I don't mention it at all in either the cover letter or resume. Not that I've been on that many job interviews, but I've always waited until the interview to discuss that.

5. I definitely wouldn't put that in the cover letter. :nogood:

6. I would not include in any of your application materials, unless the employer specifically requires it. If it goes well and it is a fit, salary will be brought up to you when it is appropriate. Good luck!

7. As a hiring manager, I never ask for it. I also don't give it if I'm the one applying for a position. I think it's fine to indicate that salary is negotiable based on the entire benefits package as a whole.

I will tell you that when someone writes a firm amount down, and it's out of the ball park of what I know I can offer, I put it on the bottom of the pile. I don't want to waste my valuable time interviewing someone that I know I can't meet their expectations with regard to salary.