I'm running a half-marathon Sunday, and I'm really nervous! Advice?

1. I am running in my first ever half marathon this Sunday morning, and I am so nervous! I've never run in a road race before! Does anyone have any advice or information to share about what to expect on race day, what to do (and not do) the day before, etc.

Any advice or words of encouragement are appreciated!

TIA!

2. I take it you are a regular runner? I hope so. What is your regular long distance?

Don't run anymore this week. You need to let your body rest 'cause 13 miles is a long way and is hard on your body.

3. I've been training for about 6 months. I typically run 3-4 miles 2 or 3 days during the week, and I do a long run on the weekend. The longest distance I've run is 12 miles.

I did my last run before the race this morning. I have a book on training, and it has helped. I know I've prepared for the race, I'm just nervous about it.

4. Don't get caught up in the excitement and run at a higher pace than your normal. When I ran mine, I was psyched and the crowd was huge and I wanted to keep towards the front. Well, I kind of outpaced myself, but it wasn't that bad. I still finished in the top 10%, so for my first race, I think that was ok.
    Um....eat carbs now. You want to build up your reserves and only eating carbs the night before the race won't do it. Drink plenty of water the night before the race. Eat something light when you wake up...oatmeal and a banana maybe 2 hours prior to actually running.

5. ^Thanks, Charles! Great advice!

6. good luck! i did one a year and a half ago... i would say definitely get plenty of rest this week and make sure that when you run, you're doing it for yourself and not competing with those around you. run at the pace that feels comfortable for your body.

most of all, take care of yourself this week! be proud of yourself!!!!!!!!!!

7. Don't wear anything new...especially shoes-that includes socks even.