If you're a teacher

Jinxster

Mar 20, 2007
If you're a teacher could you tell me some pros and cons of it? My friend just called me and told me she was thinking of changing her major from secondary education to something else. I couldn't think of any pros or cons to tell her. She seems stuck in the middle.

I am a teacher with a certification grades PK-3 to 8 however I've taught only at the Kindergarten level. Its not an easy job but it is very rewarding. Bonus to any teaching position is the myriad of holidays plus, winter, spring and summer hiatus.

I'm not a teacher, but my mom has been teaching for almost 30 years. She has taught almost every grade from adults wanting to get their GEDs to high schoolers, and now she teaches dual language (English/Spanish) geography to 6th-graders. From what she has told me, the pros are definitely the hours and the holidays. She works 7a-3p, has off the regular public school system holidays as well as the vacations (spring break, summer vacation, winter break, etc.).

The benefits are also great. She is a part of the Florida Retirement System, has health insurance at no cost (for single coverage) and is entitled to other benefits that state employees are.

Not to mention, the job is rewarding. It is tiring - I know she is constantly on her feet. But she has told me that teaching is the only job she ever imagined doing :smile:

well, secondary education is good, because if she wants to change later on, she will still have a degree to fall back on (math, science, english, etc.). I got my degree in elementary education and there's not much else you can do with that.