If you could pick 2 bags to carry...

lawgirl

O.G.
Oct 17, 2006
Hi, I'd really like to buy 2 classic bags, one black and one tan/beige, to go with everything. I'm so tired of thinking about and debating bag purchases. Would like to buy 2 this year and be done with it!

I'm heading into my late 30s ... I like designer bags that are high quality but not necessarily the "it" bags that everyone carries. My style is simple... I'm a lawyer but not working. I'd carry the bags out to lunch, to school meetings, errands, etc.

I'd really appreciate suggestions! I'm open to any price point. If I could I'd love to have a black and beige Birkin, but that's not possible! And also not the image I want to give off...I dress simply.. solid colors, lots of black and navy and like brands like a Theory, dvf, Joie, etc.

Please suggest away!

Currently my 2 favorite bags are my Bottega Veneta Medium-size Double Chain Tote (12.6” x 9.4” x 4.7”) and my small Fendi By The Way (11” x 7” x 5.5” with a 42” detachable strap). I love these bags for everyday because they are versatile and incredibly light weight and high in function.

I normally go for bags that have a top handle with a detachable cross-body strap because I feel the need to be hands-free, and I was initially worried about the Bottega Veneta double straps and whether they would stay on my shoulder, but I haven’t had a problem as long as I tuck the outermost strap under the strap that’s closest to my body.

As for the By The Way, it’s incredibly roomy for a small bag, but it’s also available in a larger size. Mine is red, so I’m attaching a pic from the Fendi site. The original Turtledove color was gorgeous (check out the thread in the Fendi subform http://forum.purseblog.com/threads/anybody-who-is-buying-or-has-bought-the-by-the-way-bag.870621/)—I’m not positive the current color they carry is what they call “Turtledove,” but it looks similar.

View attachment 3501871 Fendi By The Way small.png