I just figured out MMORPGs like World of Warcraft...

Vlad

Founder
Admin
O.G.
Mar 16, 1980
MMORPG stands for Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game. World of Warcraft is one example of a very successful one, one that I have a lot of experience with, as I was addicted to it for a good two years, before Megs helped me overcome it. And now I run a Purse Blog full-time. Go figure. Anyway...

For those of you who don't know the mechanics, let me briefly explain. You basically create a virtual toon in a virtual world whose actions you control. The online world is enormous, there is a lot to discover, a lot of monsters to kill, a lot of new gear to find and so forth. WoW, in particular, has now over 9 million world-wide subscribers, it is quite possibly the most successful computer game ever.

While the game is brilliant, the big problem with it is that in order to achieve "greatness", you need to spend a lot of time in it. Hours, upon hours, every day. Only if you dedicate your life to the game, you can reach the most success, you can get the best year and develop your online alter ego the most. Resulting, there is countless accounts of marriages ending in divorces, relationships split, friendships destroyed. Over a computer game. Last real account was a lady at Target who Megs and I talked to a few weeks ago. She said that she broke off her engagement a few months ago with her ex-fiance because he got addicted to World Of Warcraft. He would be lying to her in order to spend more time on the game, he would neglect her to a point where she simply left him because it became unbearable. I am a witness to the destructive power of the addicting online gaming madness myself, my relationship with Megs suffered greatly 2 years ago over that game. Fortunately she helped me to get a grip on myself and I broke away from it.

After talking to a long-time friend of mine tonight, I finally figured out why MMORPGs are so dangerously addicting.