I couldn't believe my ears...about favoring sons over daughters...

1. I am not going to name an ethnic group here, but from this story I am sure you can fill in the blanks...Anyway, I work in the insurance industry and this guy has a XXX,000 policy on his son (6 x's more than his sis's pol), and on his daughter a XX,000 policy - the son and daugther are a couple of years a part from each other...Well, the father doesn't see why he should have a policy on his daughter. :confused1: Arh, I couldn't believe my ears...so he plans on cancelling the policy for his daughter and is going to keep the one on his son...wow, I really taken back by that whole experience.

Guess different cultures value son's over daughter's ~ I have heard about this but never really thought about it until this whole experience...wow!! I am still speechless!!!!

2. I can tell you when we were growing up my sis and I were snooping in our parent's room and discovered not only insurance for my brother, the only boy, but a healthy savings account as well. When we asked my dad, he replied that my brother was worth more because he would carry on the family name.

And we are Irish.

3. WHATTT!?! well, society still has some wrinkles it needs to iron out, i guess.

racism and discrimination is very much alive today. oh well, the world can't be perfect.

4. how discriminatory! and i thought the world was better than this.

5. wow. i think that's horrible. im chinese and my parents never favored boys over girls (even though they only had girls :yes: ) that makes me very sad. BUT i rather have daughters than sons haha!

6. i think my parents would do that exact same thing your client did toogood...

sadly :sad:

7. Did I read that right? Are they taking out insurance policies on children? I'm a dummy.. let me know.

8. How sad!!

9. EEK..Thats sad!