How to become an expert....

1. I really only "know" the bags I own...how do you expert ladies become such an expert (on authenticating, knowing discontinued colors/years, etc.)? Is there a book somewhere that details everything? or is it just knowledge of what you own?

2. I used to flip through eBay auctions obsessively.. after you see lots, you gradually pick up your knowledge. Reading the posts here doesn't hurt either.

There's no really good compendum that I can recommend, I'm not so sure about those guides on eBay either - I bought one because I was curious but I felt really ripped off after since it basically reiterated everything I knew.

I'm not sure if I'm an expert.. per say, after all, "I know nothing, except that". :biggrin:

3. It makes me wonder, though, I mean, I see so many LV bags every day, and honestly, I couldn't tell you how many are fake and how many aren't. Some are obvious, when the shape or the colour is obviously wrong, but some of those fakes are really well done. How do you tell a high-end fake from the real thing?

4. I hear ya glow!
    I wanted a CB papillon really badly at one point and was researching like crazy....so I can pretty much spot a fake there....but so many other things I am not great at....like the fonts on the stamps, etc.

5. Well I grew up with my mom having authentic LVs and I always used to go into the boutiques with her so I just gradually became aware of the differences in the fakes vs. the authentic bags. I gained not only an appreciation for the details of authentic LV, but I gained an appreciation for the company and it's history as well.
    Also, there are sites like mypoupette that help by showing pictures and comparisons of the two. This guide was VERY helpful and I referred to it quite often:
    http://omgoddess.ms11.net/mepage