How the heck does "reserve" work ???

1. OK, im still relatively new to using eBay, and I have not yet encountered a "reserve" until now . I understand that its basically a secret minimum price that the seller has, but how does it affect bidding, or does it at all ?

If you put in a maximum bid, will it automatically go above the reserve price, or just above the previous highest bid ? does that make sense to anyone ??

Anyways, any info would be helpful .
    Thanks !
  2. If the auction hasn't reached the reserve price but your max bid does then I believe the bid that reaches the reserve price will show?

I find that reserves turn me away from the auction more than anything.. unless the item is something so unique and I have been wanting for a while. Otherwise I just leave it in my watch list but end up never bidding on it. Also, as a seller I find that reserve priced auctions never did me any good and its just expensive for nothing, IMO. So I never do reserve priced auctions.. if anything I will do a buy it now with an offer auction.

I hope that helped and everything made sense!
  3. This is from eBay:

A reserve price is the lowest price at which you are willing to sell your item. If you don’t want to sell your item below a certain price, you can a set a reserve price. The amount of your reserve price is not disclosed to your bidders, but they will see that your auction has a reserve price and whether or not the reserve has been met. If a bidder does not meet that price, you're not obligated to sell your item.
    Why have a reserve price? Many sellers have found that too high a starting price discourages interest in their item, while an attractively low starting price makes them vulnerable to selling at an unsatisfactorily low price. A reserve price helps with this.