How old were you when you started your graduate school program?

1. I need some advice. I graduated from a university in June 2007. I have been applying to graduate programs for the past six months (i.e. studying for the GREs, taking the GREs, harassing past professors for letters of recommendations, filling out a million and one applications, etc.). I am applying to graduate school because I feel it is the next logical step for me, but as I am filling out these applications, I feel more and more confused about the area of concentration I want to focus on. Should I hold off until I am 100% sure? Also, I am curious as to the age you boys and girls were when you started your graduate programs. I will be 23-years-old. Everyone is telling me I am still young, but I cannot help but feel as if I am getting old.
  2. LOL! I was 33. Finished at 36 You are never too old to better your education.
    I had 65 + year old students in classes with me.
  3. If you're not totally sure what you want to do, it will show in your application. I work as a writing tutor at my school and spend a lot of time with students who are writing their essays and personal statements for grad school, and I can always tell when they think that this is just the "next step." Schools want to take students who are totally in love with their chosen field of study and can demonstrate their passion through their application, and when a student has trepidations, it's clearly noticeable.

My advice is to take a year or two off, get a job if you can, and return to school when you feel it's right. You might even find a job that will pay for your masters if you're lucky.
  4. If you're not really sure, it will show in your application. BUT it may not matter, depending on the school/program -- ie matters a lot for business school, matters not as much for law school. Do you have strong recommendation? For PhD programs, those are arguably the most important piece in your application.