How do you reason spending $1600 on a handbag?

1. Ok, I consider myself a fairly intelligent individual with good reasoning. However, I am strongly considering dishing out $1600 for a handbag. Over the past year, what I considered to be a reasonable amount to spend has gradually increased. However, the most I have ever paid in the past for a bag is a few hundred dollars (probably $350 max). The bag I want is the Jimmy Choo Maddy bag. It's a very hard find, which makes me want it that much more. When I told my boyfriend, he flipped. He thinks I've gone completely insane for "wasting my money on a freakin' bag". Not to mention, I'm a grad student with a limited income. So, even though I know it's not exactly practical, how can I reason spending this much? How do you all reason your spending?

2. You shouldn't have to reason it. If you can afford it and pay all your other bills, then you should treat yourself to it. If it will make you happy and you don't have anything that you need to pay with the money, go ahead and do it.

I have the same issue with bags that high, but if I really want something, I'll do my darndest to get it.

3. I don't reason-I just think I deserve it! LOL

4. I don't have alot of bags but the ones I do have I either saved for or my husband bought me as a present. I think elongreach said it well.

5. if you can buy it without using a credit card, and not have to go without major necessities (like food and rent) then you should not have to worry about it.

the most i spent on a bag was 1400 and i used a credit card to buy it. so i could not afford it, and i'm paying for it now in more ways than one. it's not worth it. but in the last year, i haven't used any credit cards - i pay cash for everything, which means i can't afford to spend $$ on bags, but what i do buy, i know i have earned.

jmho.

6. ^^ITA! I spend what I can afford because I know I deserve it.

7. if I have the money, I buy it because I want it.