How do you handle an item not described?

1. Hi all:

I have been buying on eBay since 1998 and never had a problem until now. I purchased a LV that was described as in good condition with no rips, but light soiling (not noticable). The seller said there were a couple of grey scuff marks that do not show up on camera and were only on one side of the bag.

Well I got the bag today and every surface has damage that appears to be embedded in the leather. Moreover, there is a rip in the top of the leather. Attached are pictures.

How do you handle an item not described with Paypal? I am assuming the seller is not going to refund since she has not responded. Who do you send the bag to to get support for it not being as described? Totally lost as to what to do with Paypal. TIA

black2.jpg black1.jpg bla3.jpg red2.jpg rip.jpg
  2. Wow. Have you tried magic eraser on the scuffs? Maybe the damage just looks worse than it is... try taking it to a boutique to see if it's fixable. Would you be willing to accept a discount from the seller? Try emailing her with that option and let her know that if she's unwilling to do a partial refund you'll have to open a SNAD dispute. I'm not sure you have a strong case though since the seller made mention of the scuff marks. Did she downplay the scuffs in the description? If she said things like "only on one side" then I'd say go straight to the dispute. If you do open a dispute focus on the tear in the leather and maybe note the excessive discoloration.

3. You should contact the seller first, you may be able to come to an agreement on a fair price for the bag. Try to be calm and friendly in the email, it seems to work better.

If she agrees to refund your money if you return the purse, make sure she agrees to refund your original shipping price as well. If she doesn't just file a snad, you will have to pay to ship it back, but paypal will refund the original shipping.