How do you decide when to pay retail and when to wait for a sale?

1. Are there certain bags that you know won't make it to a sale? Is it determined by how much or how soon you want the bag? Does your budget require you to wait for sales?(mine does) Do you just prefer to not pay retail for anything?(this would be me to ha!) I was just curious.

2. My budget requires me to wait for sales and I hate paying retail for things as well! I only pay retail for bags I know won't go on sale (e.g. Balenciaga, LV). I guess if there is a really really hot bag that I MUST have that runs the risk of selling out before sale season, I might consider paying retail for it...but probably not.

3. As a college student, I really cannot afford to pay for things at retail price. I always wait for a sale or go find things at TJ Maxx. If there are bags that don't go on sale like LV then I turn to eBay and search for days before finally deciding. I don't think I have ever purchased a bag at retail price. It is simply way too high and would cut my wallet in half! hahaha

4. I've only paid retail for LV. I just shop sales because everything is soooo overpriced.

5. I never pay retail, I always wait for a sale. Right before Xmas, I bought a MJ Julianne for $875, on sale from $1200. But the week after Xmas, it went down to $625 and I thought, AHHHHHH! But luckily I was able to get a price adjustment.... I would have felt sick if I could have saved $250 by waiting a week. So for me my fear of overpaying is greater than my fear of losing a particular bag.

6. I will only buy handbags on sale because the "thrill of the chase" is a large part of the fun for me. I love seeking out that great deal.

However, I'm still buying stuff in the $400 and under price range... when I can afford a Balenciaga City (my future wishlist bag) I will probably pay retail for it (because I will want to pick out the leather & color in person).