House flooded, town flooded -Queensland outback Australia

FrankieP

O.G.
Jun 24, 2006
Hi guys, hoping for some karma and luck wished our way.

I live in Charleville, a small town of 3000 in the Queensland outback, Australia. We're having catastrophic downpours at the moment and the town's flooding. Woke up this morning to find 3 foot of flood water pouring through our house. It's a highset house and underneath is just storage and the treadmill (which we put atop a bench yesterday thankfully), but we've been evacuated from the house and are presently staying with friends.

I'm a Paramedic out here and MrFrankie works in Local Gov't in IT and Engineering so we're both flat out all day doing rescue stuff and are very involved in it.. it's just a nightmare, half the town is under already and these people already had devastating floods in 1990 and 1997. We're lucky that hopefully our living areas upstairs will remain dry, but power, water and sewerage are off and floods are expected to still rise.

If you click the fitness files link to my training blog I made a long post there about everything that's happened for us today.. just hope that anyone I'm currently in a transaction with will know not to worry on that if I'm away for a bit, things are pretty hectic here. You can see pics on the news websites, probably one of me will be there too helping my mate evac her coffee shop!

Here's the post.. http://frankiefit.blogspot.com/2008/01/flooded-out.html

Wish us luck.

"Floating" Frankie.

All the best to you Frankie!!!! Please stay safe.

My mum lives in Northern NSW and whilst they haven't had any flooding yet, they've had loads of rain.

BTW - are you the member that broke your leg after falling off your bike? Ow-wee!

Hi Cal, yes that's me! Have pics now and news stories... I'll post pics and explain them.

470Wills_St_Friday.jpg

470StMarysCatholicChurch.jpg

470floodRSLClubleft.jpg

470Corones_hotel_Friday.jpg

470Cnr_Wills___Edward_St.jpg