Holding Presentations:Your personal Tips and Tricks Please

1. I have always had a problem holding presentations- I don't quite know why. I have good grades, am usually confident and speak up in class etc. but as soon as it comes to holding a presentation, I become extremely insecure and forget nearly everything I prepared. Now that I am a postgraduate student and have to hold presentations in every single class I feel like I should really overcome this problem.:shame:

I think this will make a very interesting threat as a lot of my friends stuggle with this, too.

So could you please be so kind to share your personal tips and tricks for holding presentations with us since a lot of you probably have to hold them quite often and I always admire people that hold great presentations!:yes:

Thanks in advance- I really appreciate it!:flowers:
  2. Sometimes, the only way to overcome a fear is to do it, and do it, and do it. I used to train and trust me, the first few times I was stuttering, and clammy, and awkward, but after a week it was cake. Of course, now, I don't train so I'm not in the spotlight much more and presentations still make me nervous, but I try to take a proactive approach and tell myself that this is my time to shine, and that all these people will be left impressed with me. Don't wait til the end to present. Ask to go first, that way in your head you've taken that step to show you're not scared. It's kind of tricking yourself in a way, but it works for me. Plus, I don't rack myself with nerves waiting for my turn. Aside from that, be prepared. Know your stuff and practice in the mirror or in front of friends. That way you can find spots that are worded a bit funny and smooth them out prior to your presentation day.
    Good luck!
  3. i do a lot of presentations, i love them...i love giving speeches, presenting my research, etc.