Hermes/Birkin Experts Pls Help me!!!

1. First I will tell you my story. I have only seriously been contemplating a Birkin for the last 6months. I am 26, happily married and have so far bought Chanel, Gucci and LV bags.

But Im getting over them and want something classy, elegant, timeless and able to use everyday and then pass on to my future children. I hope im not alone in thinking like this!

We cant afford it just now, as we are in the middle of building our dream house, but Im thinking it will be a good present for my 30th birthday - so 4 years away. Then it will be even more sentimental to me. :yahoo:

Hubby has said yes, and is so sweet, he really understands my bag obsessions. He has his own expensive obsessions - computers, technology, dvds and phones. LOL :heart:

So my questions are (and I have a few as Im still a Hermes newbie) so bear with me!!!

1. I want a bag I can use almost everyday. Which leather type would you recommend and why??

2. I am tossing up between black or gold/tan/brown. I dont wear alot of black now, I love colour, but Im thinking for the future too. Do you think they are both classic colour? Which would you choose? Oh and with Palladium Hardware.

3.Im in Australia - should I put myself on the waiting list now? How long do you think it would take??

Thankyou so much everyone - looking forward to reading your responses. :yes::tup: :heart:

2. OK, first things first. There are no waiting lists in Australia, so don't go and ask to put your name down!! LOL!!

What you will need to do is start developing a relationship with that store (I am assuming Melbourne? - PM me for some names if you like), then you will find when you are ready to order your bag, you'll have far less trouble.