*Help needed, lawyers!! *

1. Lawyers,

I work in a restaurant as a casual waitress. One fine day or should i say lunch hours, a bunch of ladies who lunch (tai tais) walked in with their kids who then made a mess around the table and litters on the floor. I mean excessive problems like everywhere. So, my lady boss gave a fellow waitress a bag to ask the ladies to clean up at least pick up those rubbish of them on the floor. They refused and has commented that they will sue the restaurant. I am confused as there was no bad feelings on our side. The waitress has said everything in a nice tone and has requested rather politely. Is there even a case? We received a call from a lawyer today. Any thoughts? Thanks !!
  2. Don't know what jurisdiction you are in (where is the restaurant?) but that is the stupidist thing I have ever heard. Talk about frivolous!

I don't think you have anything to worry about!

although, as a former waiter, i would never ask a customer to clean up after themselves... that's why you go to a restaurant in the first place.

But I don't think that any law has been violated and I can't imagine what their theory of harm/damages could possibly be.

completely stupid!

yes i am a lawyer.
  3. lols, i mean we do clean up after customers, but the kids messiness and rubbish are their own responsibilities, no?? We're talking about excessive paper litters and strings and stuff like that. I mean i know customers dont expect to clean up after themselves but there is to a certain degree imo. I just don't understand what these ladies are thinking? Has society behaviour expectation increases as status goes up as well?
  4. Are you in an Asian country? I only assume so because you use the term "tai tai."
  5. Lols, i'm in australia and those ladies are indeed taitais who are Asians.