Help for my first LV - Mono Speedy 30 or Damier Azur 25/30

1. I'm so excited to purchase my first LV (yay!) and I'd love my fellow TPFers opinion on whether I should go with the mono or the damier azur. (Considerations: I'm a professional in my early 20's and planning to spend around $600)

My concerns:
    1. Speedy?
    The speedy's seem to be the most popular, but also the most faked - would it seem like trying to be too much of a "follower" to get the speedy?

2. Mono vs. Damier Azur?
    I'm quite torn b/c the mono is obviously a classic - but it kinda screams "look at me, I'm an LV!", whereas the azur is a little more discreet (and is *such* an adorable print!). I've considered the fact that the azur will show things like dirt and pen marks more (and I'd be taking it on the subway with me :sweatdrop:), however the patina looks better on the mono than the azur. I've also heard that the canvas on the azur is thinner than the mono - any truth to that?:confused1:

Which leaves me so confused....which should I choose???
  2. I'd get the Speedy only because it's a classic and because it's a great starter bag. As for what line to get, I'd get Damier Azur. It has a fresh, vibrant look to it. :supacool:

If you decide not to get a Speedy, I suggest getting a Damier Azur Saleya PM.

If you have any questions on vachetta or patina, refer to these threads here:

Welcome to tPF btw! ;)
  3. As much as I love the Azur Speedy, I would go with the mono for your first LV. I should probably mention that my first LV was the Mono Speedy 30 so I'm a bit partial :p
  4. I just ordered my first LV and it was the Azur Speedy 30... I'm 5'5 about 160LBs so I figured that size would be good, I like big bags also.

I like the mono but around here it is sooo faked and even though I really don't care I just wanted something different. And the Azur is sooo cute and fresh like above said!