Having a hard time teaching my own child!!

1. Does anyone have any thoughts on how to teach your own child? I'm a piano teacher and it's so difficult to teach her.

Any suggestions? Or should I just not teach her and have someone teach her?

Thx

2. let someone else teach her, if it is possible. they like having another adult give them praise/ instruction.

3. Does she want to learn how to play the piano?

4. I found it *really* hard to teach my son Math.

5. I think every parent of a skill will tell you, a child does NOT want to learn these things from their parent. I don't know why, but it's complicated. First, kids know your buttons. Two, you probably have less patience because you know her too well.

I don't know WHY it is that way, but it seems to be universal that a child with their parent teaching them math or an instrument or ANYTHING skill related will not behave as well as he/she would for another adult. It doesn't mean you aren't a good parent. It's just the way it goes. So, I would hire a piano teacher for her for sure and just help her with her practicing (without becoming the teacher again).

6. I disagree. My daughter feels more comfortable learning to play guitar from her dad. It is something they could do together and spend quality time with each other. She loves it and brags to her friends!
    It also helps to be consistant, do the lessons on certains days at certain schedule. Just so it feels like a normal part of the day and he will get used to it. It also depends on the childs age.

7. ^^It certainly depends on the parent. My SO remembers learning many things from his mother, and so do I. But both our mothers were very patient people. His mom is an elementary school teacher and my mom taught pre-school.