Gre

1. I'm taking the GRE Monday so I can apply for grad school over the summer ... has anyone else taken it? Easy, hard? I'm usually a pretty good test taker, but I picked up a book at Barnes & Noble today (teacher appreciation week -- get 25% off!) to look over tonight. You can see I'm here. :biggrin:

2. I haven't taken it yet, but would you mind posting how you thought the test was after you take it?

3. Took it 3 years ago to go to grad school (I'm graduating next week ;)) and man it was HARD!!! I swear GRE vocab is NOT English!!! Good luck with your exams, but definately take the time to get used to the format -- it helps a lot!

4. I took it two years ago. It's basically the same as the SAT only computerized. The math was harder than I expected (then again math and I don't get along).

Just practice practice practice and you'll do fine.

5. Yeah, I looked over the book I got ... the math will be fine (it's a lot of what I'm teaching now, I'm a algebra teacher. I had the benefit of having an awesome review these past few weeks at work :biggrin: ) but some of those words in the verbal looked like they were in another language! I only need a 1000 to get into my program, so I'm not tooo worried since I know I will score high on math, but I sure am glad I looked everything over.

6. I took it this past winter. I didn't do as well as I wanted to, but in the end it didn't matter because I got into my doctorate program anyways.;)

If you are a good test taker then you definately have an advantage. I read all the books and tried to study, but it doesnt' help. Ya pretty much have to wing it. Good luck!

7. With the writing section, just be sure to pick a point of view and stick with it. Take a stance and support your argument using the facts provided in the article. I got a perfect score for the writing doing this so it works. It's like writing a critique of someone else's research. If you've done that in the past, you'll be fine.