going back to work in a 18 months or less - what to do!

1. Now that I'm finally sleeping and our little one is not so dependent, I'm thinking about going back to work. Problem is, I don't know what I want to do and what I "CAN" do.

Here's the situation. I have a degree in Spanish (minor in anthropology). I have a master's degree in educational administration with a university emphasis. My ENTIRE career has been in university administration and I do love it, but... it's who you know... and I KNOW no one. I have been out of the workplace for 4.5 years and my last employment was in Canada. The first year was because we were living in a state for only 9 months and it just didn't make sense to find a job and then "go". Then, we moved here and just after we moved here, I found out I was expecting a baby, so we just had me stay home. My little one is now 2 years and 9 months.

What I'm finding is that now that I've been out of the loop for awhile, I am overqualified for the lower jobs and not qualified enough for the higher positions. I've applied to appealing jobs and those even LOWER than my qualifications here and there over the last year and I have gotten ZERO nibbles. The ONLY job I got an interview for and offered a position was for a secretary... and it paid $20,000 LESS than my last job!!! it's VERY frustrating to feel like I'm starting all over again!

So... what to do?!?!?! My son will be 3 or perhaps 4 when I go back to work, so daycare is still something to factor in. Also, my DH is away 12 hours a day. My older son who is 11 and will be 12 when I go back to work.

The things I've thought of are 1. to get a teacher's certificate and teach in elem. school or middle school. They have a shortage of Spanish teachers, but, I haven't used my spanish in 14 years!!!

or, get an ESL/ESOL certificate and work in the schools. There are Short track and traditional tracks to getting into that, but I'm not sure how marketable that is.