Getting a job in a high-end boutique? How?

1. Does anyone here work for a high-end department store or boutique? How did you get the job? And is this just a job to you or a career/long-term job?

I'm currently in my 4th year at uni and plan on going into my masters afterwards. Part of me thinks I should be looking for jobs related to my field/study (sociology/politics/history) or career goal (probably market research, consulting, advertising) but another part of me wants to get a job at a high-end boutique while I'm still in school and have the chance to.

2. Do you have a lot of experience working in retail? I've heard that people usually start in lower retail or chain stores then work their way up until they're where they want to be. Sometimes, you'll get lucky and know someone or land the job without too much experience based on having a good personality and good skills, but usually it seems to be experience.

3. if its going to make you happy then go for it.

4. purselova34 is right. All my SAs worked at stores like J Crew and FCUK before LV, Gucci, Barneys, etc.

Although if you have killer style and are gorgeous that helps a lot getting you interviews....

5. experience wins about 85% of the time over degrees when it comes to working for any major brand. it's pretty rare for an employee to be hired based solely on their degree or field of study, when they really don't know how the world works in the particular career.. for example, studying economics doesn't make you an expert on consumer trends or retailer trends. it just gives you an edge that COULD be applied to the career if you were to work in retail.

i'm in retail for the rest of my life.. and i've decided to make a career out of it, rather than "just a job". we get a lot of people during the holiday season though that have other "real careers" that just want to take a break or mix it up and have part time seasonal help with our store or other things like that on the side.