feeling blue: need some career/school advice-anyone a buyer/seller/personal shopper?

1. Hi tpf,

I just want to start of by saying that I am really thankful for this forum. It gives me a place to turn to when I feel like I have nowhere to go and no one else really understands my problem.

I had an emotional breakdown today where I just started to cry at home because I just got my midterm back from this "supposedly" easy astronomy course and I have gotten a 60% @#@)#( on.

My marks at school have not been good lately, I don't know what's wrong with me. I am in third year University and I am trying really hard but I just seem to be struggling. The thing is, when I am in the exam room taking the exam I thought I would do ok, however, when I get my marks back, my grades are about 10-15% worse than what I expected.

What frustrates me the most is that I feel really frustrated by the things I'm learning in my major, it is just not applicable to what I want to do in life which is being a clothing buyer/seller or a personal shopper. I tell my friends and family about my career goals but they are really unsupportive. They think that such jobs are for rich kids (I am definately NOT one) or people with good connections. Also, they don't think that such a field is stable or realistic.

I am really miserable in University and I've never felt so bad about myself intellectually as I do now. I am just in this big slump and I don't know what to do. I have one more year until I graduate and I don't know if I should do a minor or not, since doing a minor would just be trying to get the "most" out of my tuition. I know that being a buyer/seller/merchandiser has nothing to do with anything I am learning right now at school.

Is there some college or University program (perferably in Canada as I am canadian) where I can learn about being a fashion merchandiser?