fake LV's

1. i was at a restaraunt Saturday night & I saw two women, both with LV Speedy 30's. one had dark tan leather handles & the other had light tan leather handles. now I am no expert on spotting fake LV's, but I was just curious if real LV's come with two different shades of leather handles or were they both fake?
  2. I am not expert, but I think the age of the purse makes the handles and leather change colors. Some purses get a patina. But, who knows, they could be fakes too!??!
  3. I don't know if these were fake, but the new LV leather (vachetta) is very light, then in time gets a patina and turns honey-colored, so maybe one was newer than the other. The LV forum is very active--you'll get many more replies over there than on this general forum.

Good eye for details!
  4. I have a brand new speedy - the handles were almost white when I first got it. It is slowly turning a nice honey color. The older the LV the darker the vachetta gets.
  5. The leather gets darker with age. It's called patina. ;)
  6. The damier pattern comes with dark handles instead of the vachetta. The handles on most monogram pieces starts very pale, like others have said, and gradually develops a honey colored patina. If it is used a lot for a long time, the top part of the handles can become very dark.
  7. When I bought my Speedy about 3 or 4 years ago, the leather on the handles was nearly white... it has now developed into more of a honey color, but it didn't start out like that. It eventually can get very dark.
  8. see, i know nothing about LV. Thanks everyone for the info!
  9. The older the speedy, the darker the handles.
  10. I suppose you can spot it through the prints, workmanship and sometimes even the size of the bag.
  11. Monogram Canvas Speedys have two different leathers - the modern Speedys have naked vachetta leather, the vintage French Company Speedys have treated leather.
  12. New Speedy (pic from elux)