Dying for a Birkin -- SORRY LOOOONG post.....

1. Hi ladies. I'm new to Hermes and havent own any H products yet. Since joining tPF I've grown attracted to the Birkin. Now I just feel like I can't live without one.

Here is my situation: I've worked very hard in the last few years and saved up some money, so I can afford a Birkin, either at the store price or the highly-inflated eBay price. But now I'm a stay at home mom to my twin baby boys, I thought I should save my money for their college fund, especially now that I'm staying at home most of the time, I really don't need such a nice bag.

But who am I kidding, I can't get pass one day without looking at the Birkin pics thread. So hypothetically if I were to get one, do you ladies think I should try my luck to get on a waitlist at a H store or just get it off eBay? My dream bag is the 35cm BJ Togo which is selling for about $13k on eBay and I guess the retail at H store is about $8k? Or you actually think I should just scratch this whole I-need-a-Birkin idea?

Also, should I start my H purchase with something small first, like you ladies have suggested in other threads? Am I jumping the gun here?

Sorry for these ignorant questions. To me Hermes is something very out of my league so I'm very nervous...

Any comment/opinion is appreciated. Thanks!
  2. If you live near a store, try to form a relationship with an SA and this does not necessarily mean having to purchase a lot. After a couple of visits when you are comfortable with the SA, tell them what you would like and ask what is the best way the SA can help you get it.

With twin baby boys, your hands and pocketbooks are full and I would suggest this route first before you go the reseller way.

Good luck.
  3. happy4ever, would it be possible for you to visit an Hermes boutique?? There's nothing like establishing a relationship with a special Sales Associate ( SA) with whom you work to discover and select the things Hermes you wish to have in your life.....