durability of chanel bags?

1. hi, i'm a newbie and have "maybe" decided chanel will be my next handbag purchase. but i have read some comments on this forum about problems with the bags...my 18yr old daughter wears little "c" earrings with rhinestones, that we purchased in february, took back into Saks in june as a couple of the stones had fallen out, received them back repaired in august, and today(she's home from college for the weekend) we had to return them a second time to the boutique at Saks as more stones have fallen out. she NEVER wears them in the shower, to sleep, is very careful. we both own chanel sunglasses(mine have rhinestones, hers have pearls) and NO problems there...but now i am wondering if chanel items aren't as durable as say, lv, which mine have lasted forever? thanks for any input. i have fallen for the new chanel bag, that has small rectangle handles and looks sort of like a dr bag and is quilted, almost a distressed leather look(so sorry, i know y'all are well versed in chanel, i am not) but this bag seems like a style i could carry for a long time and not tire of it but don't even want to start planning the purchase if these bags aren't really lifelong investments? ...enough said, thanks!
  2. I too have had to return earrings for the same reason (pearls falling out) Now I am very choosy on what costume jewerly I buy from Chanel . I have noticed on some of my cavier bags that the color kind of changes or fades Especially pink cavier.
  3. caviar fades a lil and softens, because its leather and thats what it does, i tend not to buy costume jewelry from chanel, not my style imo, the bags are very durable, and i have no idea wut bag your talking about lol o wait i think you are talking about the outdoor bowler...
  4. I think the bag you are talking about will be durable. As the ladies have said, leather is different from LV canvas and will wear differently, but still beautifully, IMO.