Does anyone take generic BCPs?

1. I've been taking OrthoCyclen BCPs for a couple years after being on Depo-Provera for five years. There is a generic version of OrthoCyclen called Sprintec but I haven't switched because I am so paranoid. I am not sure if there is any truth to my fears, but 1) I am afraid that they aren't as effective as brand name; and 2) I've also heard that your periods aren't as regular when taking generics (doesn't always start on the same day).

The benefit to switching is the cost savings. I am currently paying $55 per month for OrthoCyclen; Sprintec is $6 per month. That's a huge difference!

I'd love to hear from women with generic BCP experience. Did you notice a difference? Have you had any problems?

Thank you!!

2. Hi! I am on Triphasil which is a generic of Trivora. I am NOT a doctor but I HIGHLY doubt that generics are ANY less effective than brand names. I have had no problems at all being on a generic. And my periods are extremely regular. Ask your doctor so that you know for sure but I would HIGHLY recommend generics!

Good Luck!;)

3. Thanks, MassLaw! I am sure that you are correct - that generic BCPs are just as effective as brand name. Otherwise, they wouldn't be available and women wouldn't take them. Plus, it's really nice to know that you have regular periods on them. A friend of mine who takes generics says her period is very irregular and it never starts on the same day of the week and that would drive me nuts. My other thought was that if this was true, that all women don't have regular periods on generics, it confirmed my belief that they aren't the same and brand name.