does a chevre Bolide always show a spine?

1. I ask because I assumed so, yet this eBay auction indicates the Bolide (gorgeous!) is chevre mysore and I don't see a spine - 220097450237.

Those of you with your stunning chevre Bolides, do yours have a spine in the grain or are they just the plain symmetrical small flat grain?

2. i saw a 27 irl with a definite spine.
    but chevre mysore and chevre coromandel (sp?) ... one has a more pronounced spine than the other i believe.
  3. Thanks, HH!

I know the auction pics are funny, but I don't see a spine...
  4. someone will come soon with more info for us. lol
    honestly, i can't tell from those pics, but i do believe what i said was accurate about the 2 different chevres...
    let's wait and see (one thing is true, color really pops on chevre, wowee)
  5. If I remember correctly, I think chevre mysore shows less spine. I'm no expert so pls the experts correct me if I am wrong.
  6. HH and Tamarind, you are both correct. CDC has the more distinct spine.
  7. ^^^Thanks guys. But does anyone out there have a chevre Bolide that doesn't show any hint of a spine?
  8. Chevre de Coromandel has a very distinct marking, the spine of the goat, along the centre. With most bags, the spine runs from the front, underside and rear of the bag. in the case of Birkin and Kelly Bags, the front flap will feature the spine as well.

Chevre Mysore has no spinal markings. Both are goatskin, very hardy, incredibly light, do not scratch easily but not easy to refurbish when there is damage. In the case of Coromandel, drops of water have to be quickly removed as they can collect in the grain of the spine and sit there.

Scuffing at corners is a problem with bags made in this leather.
  9. Eric, thanks! I suspected that about chevre mysore.....thanks very much for confirming it. :heart:
  10. I have a 31 chevre mysore Bolide, and you can def. see the spine. Not as much as my coromandel Kelly, though.