Do you use your cellphone while pumping gas??

1. This is some scary information I wanted to share with you ladies, I received this email from a family friend.

I work in the refining industry and this message needs to be sent out for all to view!

First thing you need to do here is to look at the shortGasoline Fumes Video, link:

This video clip was filmed using a special camera (FLIR Gas Finder) that can see gaseous type fumes and hydrocarbon releases that the naked eye cannot detect. When pumping fuel, all cell phones should either be turned off or left in the vehicle. Under no circumstances should a live phone be near the person pumping gas. This applies to all school personnel when fueling buses, vehicles, lawn mowers, etc.

Additional information:

The Shell Oil Company recently issued a warning after three incidents in which mobile phones (cell phones) ignited fumes during fueling operations. In the first case, the phone was placed on the car's trunk lid during fueling; it rang and the ensuing fire destroyed the car and the gasoline pump. In the second, an individual suffered severe burns to their face when fumes ignited as they answered a call while refueling their car. And in the third, an individual suffered burns to the thigh and groin as fumes ignited when the phone, which was in their pocket, rang while they were fueling their car.

You should know that:
    Mobile Phones can ignite fuel or fumes
    Mobile phones that light up when switched on or when they ring release enough energy to provide a spark for ignition
    Mobile phones should not be used in filling stations, or when fueling lawn mowers, boat! , Etc.
    Mobile phones should not be used, or should be turned off, around other materials that generate flammable or explosive fumes or dust, (i.e. solvents, chemicals, gases, grain dust, etc.)

To sum it up, here are the: Four Rules for Safe Refueling
    1) Turn off engine
    2) Don't smoke