Do you use "helpers"??

1. I'm kinda embarrassed to admit it, but I have become quite a fan of those meal helpers like Hamburger Helper, Tuna Helper, Supper Bakes by Campbell's, etc. My husband introduced me to them, I was kinda appalled at them before. I though it was so lazy to use them but once I tried them and saw how EASY and YUMMY they are, wow, I'm a fan! I know they are not nearly as healthy as cooking from scratch but oh well.

I'm a newlywed and busy grad student so if I can save time making dinner then it's worth it. My favorite one so far is Hamburger Helper Cheesy Enchilada (I use ground turkey instead). I think it was the first meal my DH and I made together. Am I the only one who likes these?
  2. No, I make them sometimes--I like Rice Oriental and the Cheesy Tuna casserole ones--they are quick, and if you add in some extra veggies near the end of cooking, fairly balanced meals.
  3. They taste good but are too fattening.
  4. I love the Supper Bakes! I don't think they sell them in Canada, so I haven't been able to make it for my boyfriend. Maybe I'll get some next time I have my mom send me stuff.
  5. I don't buy them... too processed for me. Most of them have white flour pasta in them, and we only eat whole wheat now.

Instead of using "helpers" I came up with recipes that can be cooked in 30 minutes or less... because I'm busy too.
  6. I don't use them. I usually cook things from scratch so when I make a semi-made dish, they taste so artificial to me.
  7. Well, for me it has to do with clean-up too. I'd rather clean one dish than a couple, ya know. I'm lazy, I admit it, but I'd rather have the extra study time and cuddle time with DH. That's just me. At least til school is over very soon, yes!!
  8. I am guilty of using them... It's convenient but I can't eat them too often. I need some real food from scratch once in awhile! :smile:
  9. i absolutely love them