Did you go?

statfan

Dec 17, 2006
I was wondering how many of you guys are going to or will go to grad school? I didn't, because I wanted to get a job before going but now feel like I don't need to go. A friend of mine is wondering whter to go or not because this spring is her last semester in college. Pros and cons?

I'm in grad school. By the time I graduated college I was sick of school. So I worked for 3 years. Then it seemed that the right further education + experience to date was the next step to a better career, so off to grad school I went.

^^^Yeah, my parents offered to pay for grad school, they did my university, but the price was too high for me to let them. I can afford it now with my job, but don't really feel the need to go now. I also, feel sometimes people are made to go to colleges or grad school thinking "I'll make so much money." When the reality seems to be the starting incomes in most felds aren't as high as the colleges state. Then, if you have loans or anything like that from the school(s), you end up making even less.

I went to Grad school and finished up this year.

I think it really depends on what your field/major/speciality is in. If your career advances with higher education then most definitely keep studying...but if you have a career or future that doesn't necessarily gain much from a Masters degree then...save your time, money and hurry up and work to build job experience.

Just IMHO :P

I did, but unfortunately I don't use the degree at all. My undergrad was elementary ed, masters in early childhood education, and I work completely out of the field! Oh well. I should have planned better.

I haven't started yet, but I will be required to go. In the state of Ohio ALL teachers must have a master's degree to help ensure that they are highly qualified teachers. In our state we have 10 years to get it once we get our first teaching certificate.