Decreased fetal movement?

1. I'm kind of new to this section of tpf so please excuse me if this has been addressed previously...Its been a couple of years since I was pregnant last (currently pregnant with baby number 2) and so I don't remember exactly, but is decreased fetal movement common at the end of the second trimester? I'm going on twenty eight weeks and today baby rarely kicked or moved. I know activity slows as baby gets bigger and there is less room to move but I still felt a lot of regular activity up until last night. DH told me not to worry and that baby is probably just "cruising" and taking it easy today, but of course my obsessive compulsive self can't just relax.
    I'm going to call my doctor in the morning just to double check but I know there are lots of experienced mommies on the board so I thought I might check here for now. I'm sure everything is fine (I do remember there being times with my last pregnancy when I didn't feel dd move or kick for an afternoon or so)...I think I'm just extra scared because I recently heard of two people who had miscarriages and they were almost into their fifth month...I'm further along than that but I can't help but worry about my little one...
  2. Yes, please call your doctor and have it checked. I would be very worried myself if it happens to me. I experience a decreased in movements from my baby when I was 2wks before my due date.. I was on a NST (Non Stress Test) and they could not register any kicks from my baby so that day, they had me go to the Triage for further observations.. eventually, I gave birth at 8pm that day.. baby had to come up via C-Section. It was a couple of weeks early, but I am glad she's well. It's her 2nd bday tomorrow and I thank God for all the blessings.

Good Luck to you and I know everything goes well with your pregnancy.:flowers: