Debating over a career in retail. Help!

1. Hi ladies!
    I always get such brilliant advice on here that I thought I'd post my lastest dilema with hopes you'll have some advice for me.
    Here's my situation. I was a high school teacher for 6 years, but honestly, I never belonged in the classroom. I am burned out.
    I may have an opportunity to go into management in retail, but my friends have warned me that the hours are horrible, the money stinks, and I'll regret it. None of them, however, have ever worked in retail.
    Here's what I want to know: Do any of you have experiences you can share with me about a career in retail, or if the words "career" and "retail" are mutually exclusive?
    Is it a dead-end job in the long haul, or do you any of you have experience in a successful and rewarding career in retail.
    Thanks for sharing. I love this forum!
  2. It really depends on what store you work for. I loved the store I worked for and had a great time working there. I just think retail is fun...meeting new people all the time, making friends with repeat customers. If you love it, it would never be a dead end job. :heart:
  3. I agree that it depends where you work. I've worked in retail for awhile, especially while I was in college. (And I'm currently working full time again in retail, while I decide what my next move will be.) I've had some good and bad experiences. Are you looking to just be a sales associate or are you thinking about management? (I've done both).
    Some cons: You'll mostly have to work weekends, especially if you're just starting. Holidays are really busy, and you might also have to work on some of these days, ie, Christmas Eve, New Years Day, etc. Some customers can be a nightmare.
    Some pros: You get a discount. Some retail establishments have great programs for branching out into different departments. The commission can be a nice incentive, on top of your salary. You meet some really great people.