Color wearing- a lot sooner than expected.

1. After owning my Ebano Ball bag for less than a month, carrying it only sporadically and babying it at all times the color wore off of the piping at the bottom corners. I know that some people don't mind the aged, lived in look but I don't think it should happen quite so soon and with almost white glove treatment.
    Anyway, it was repaired with leather dye but I regretfully retired it for special occasion use and went back to beating up my old iron-sides Coach that I swear could slog through mud puddles and never look used. I guess there is a price to pay for such soft leather. I think the woven part would have held up better on it's own like on the Sloane seamless bottom but the piping sticks out just enough to take the brunt of the friction and wear.
  2. oh, im sorry bagpusss. it does seem a bit quick to start ageing like that. im new to BV, so i havent got any answers for you, especially as ive necer even seen a ball bag IRL. im sure some of the BV experts will be able to advise you.
  3. I haven't had that happen, so I have no advice. I'm so disappointed for you. My bags don't include a ball bag but I have a Campana, the bag in my avatar, and a couple in Cervo (which would wear better I guess).
  4. Sorry to hear about your frustrations...I wish I could give you some advice. Try and enjoy the bag is all I can say!
  5. Thanks for the support, it was frustrating but not a heartbreak. I just need to find something other than the Ball for everyday wear and tear. I just wanted the rest of you to have a heads up that the color can be fragile. I actually did the dye myself and you can't see the repair. But then I am from an era where we polished our shoes once a week too.:p
  6. FYI, my mother saw wear on her ball bag in the same location after about 4-6months, but she doesn't baby her bag.