Classroom "integration"?

Sternchen

O.G.
May 16, 2006
I was thinking about this while talking to an old high school friend of mine, and I thought it would be a pretty okay discussion topic here.

When I was in grade school (1991-2003) our classes were "segregated". The 'slower' kids were in one class, the regular kids were in another, and the advanced/'smart' kids were in another class. I have to say that 95% of my classes in grade school were like this, except for classes where there was only one option. Like PE, Music, Health, etc. When I entered High School, I was "recommended" to take the test that allow me to get into the advanced and AP classes since I had very good grades in Middle school. If you didn't pass the test, you weren't allowed to take the advanced and AP classes. The second high school I went to (11th-12th) didn't require a test, but your guidance counselor had to "allow" you to be in those classes.

The year after I graduated, the superintendant changed the rule that basically anybody and everybody will be taking advanced classes. Meaning that there will be fewer classes and teachers available for those students that may not be able to keep up with the advanced classes. To me, I see a few advantages and disadvantages with this.

Advantages:
1. Students won't be singled out into the "slow", "average", and "smart" groups.
2. Everybody will have the same opportunity to take part in the advanced classes and have the opportunity to obtain college credits.

Disadvantages:
1. Class sizes will get bigger. One of the major advantages of advanced classes is that there is usually a smaller student : teacher ratio.
2. Trouble keeping up. Some students may have trouble keeping up, which would eventually slow the rest of the class down. You're only as fast as your slowest team member.

What do you all think of putting everybody together?