1. does anyone here see a chiropractor? i'm having major neck/shoulder pain, and my DH is starting to insist that i go see one. but i'm sort of in that "chiropractors are fake doctors who take your money and screw up your back" school. which i know is totally irrational and biased, esp. since i have zero personal experience. and it doesn't help that every doctor i've mentioned a chiropractor to has rolled their eyes...LOL.

can anyone share their experience to make me feel any better about potentially going to a chiro??? or to just confirm my gut instinct to stay far far away?

TIA :rolleyes:
  2. I've been going to a chiropractor for about 9 years. For me it's a must. For about 3 years, when I was in high school I went 2 times a week, but when I started college I cut down to 1 time a week and have beeing going once a week since. Sure you will find those people who say they're quacks, but I'm a firm believer in you have to do what works for you. And going to one works for me. A lot of people will say that they're effects/benifits are all in your head, but I do feel better when I go.

I have the chance of developing a disease called AS, where my virtabrae with fuse together. I haven't gotten it yet, but about 5 years ago they ran blood work and found that my numbers were very high and it could be something I might get in the future. Also I have a condition where the muscles across my back develop tears, slits, or breaks, and become weak and painful. Also my neck curves the wrong way and I fractured my pelvis about 6 years ago, so I go to keep everything in-line, moving smoothly, and relaxed. (Damn I sound like I'm falling apart :p:wtf:)

I started going in high school when they found out I had back problems, I did the whole physical therapy thing and it didn't really work and I ran out of possible times to go via insurance, so my docs reccomended going to a chiropractor. I've been going ever since.