Career Change, Advice needed

1. I am contemplating a career change at 29. Problem is I have "golden hand cuffs" to my current job. The money is incredible (6 figures) and I am working from home, part-time.

Most would say, "What is the problem? You've got it made!" Problem is, I am SOOOO BORED and unfulfilled :hysteric: . I have been doing the same thing for 8 years and I will never advance or achieve anything greater than where I am now. It is a strickly sales job- commission only, so I will have up and down years and the stress of never having a steady pay check wears on me. Although, it is the only work situation I can make my own hours and not be managed.

So :idea: - I am thinking about going back to school for a phd in Psychology, but I would have to take a year of prereqs first. Then on to 3 more years of school. At the same time, DH and I are wanting to start a family, and I need to work through the first child. Not to mention the cost of grad school.

Help! I am feeling trapped in my current job and I don't know what to do?? It seems like I am hopelessly trapped in my current career. :crybaby:
  2. tabby, I'm sorry you feel trapped :flowers:

of course, everyone is totally different but on my reading of this, my first thought is stick with your job, its great & get your fulfilment & satisfaction out of everything else in your life. I don't have children, but I can imagine how great it must be to have a flexible job to work around them if you do. as opposed to a rigid one where you have to be in the office X amount of hours everyday.

I havea vaguely, kinda/not really/ similar situation in that I must in the next few eeks decide whether to give up my terribly 'cushy' role in my husbands company to go & get some formal qualifications (although I have had a sucessful business career for years ) to help with emigration red tape. :sad: it all involes lots of long hard thinking & consideration doesn't it?

I wish you well, what ever you decide to do. :flowers: