Can't get motivated

1. During the summer, when I didn't have anything to do - no school and no job - I went to the gym 2x a week.

I got to a pretty good point after a while - ie. bench somewhat like 50 lbs, squat something like 100, 25-30 on various arm-press machines, etc.

But now I have school and a job, and I never have any energy anyway, so I don't go.

I'd like to go, but I can never get motivated.

Advice?

2. I was the same way -- when I started working after I finished my graduate degree, I was just too tired and unmotivated to go work out.

One day, I forced myself to bring my workout clothes to the office and changed into them before I left work at the end of the day. I had brought my workout stuff into work before, but each time I lost all motivation once I stepped foot outside my building. Changing at the office did make a difference.

Once I went that time, it was easier to get back into a workout routine. Even now, I have extraordinarily busy periods at work where there just aren't enough hours in the day to squeeze in a workout. Each time the hardest thing to do is go back to the gym that first time after the busy spell subsides ... but the lack of motivation subsides once I force myself to go back.

You'll be able to get back into it!! Good luck!

3. It's that first step that's so hard to take. Studies have proven that exercise gives us more energy, so if you can force yourself to stick with it for a couple weeks you will probably get the energy and motivation back to go regularly.

I saw your response on another thread, and exercise usually has a positive effect on our mood, too.

Best wishes!