Can you all educate a Balenciaga newbie?

1. So I am still fairly new to the B-bag craze, what I want to know is what are the hard to find colors from seasons past and how does the leather vary from year to year?

I take it that the S/S 06 leathers were not very good? Which season is considered to have had the best leather? What should I be looking for if I am now interested in older Balenciaga bags?

2. the leather... umm... situation goes something like this- it is best to feel and look at the leathers in person to decide for yourself which season's leather you like. some people like the 06 leather, some dont, some only like s/s04 leather, some only like 03 leather... and so on. it is all a matter of personal preference, which is why I cant answer which is "better" than another.

but I can offer you a link to an invaluable resource set up by one of our PF cohorts. atelier.naff to look at styles, colors, examples and just about everything about Balenciaga. :love:

good luck! and welcome to the beginning of an ever increasing credit card balance.
  3. I have not felt the 03 leather, but can comment on the 04, 05 and 06. The 04 is the softest of the lot. It is so beautiful! My 05 is also very soft, but not as buttery as the 04. The 06 is still stiff on the newer bags. It is my opinion that with use the 06 is going to get softer and softer. It is starting to happen on my Rouille and Grey. On the grey where the glaze (for want of a better word) has worn off, the leather is as soft as my 05. And on my Cornflower tassels where the glaze was not applied, the leather is super soft and thick, where the bottom is thin and shiny. I believe it is the treatment that applies the glaze that makes the leather feel thinner and once the glaze has worn off, the leather will feel nicer. Who knows, in 08 we will be going crazy over the softness of the 06 leathers!