Calling all career women turned SAHMs

1. To all the PF career women who decided to become SAHMs, I would love to hear your experiences as SAHMs. What made you decide to leave the corporate world? Was it a hard or easy transition out of the corporate world? I'm curious because I'm a corporate lawyer who occassionally toy with the idea of becoming a SAHM once I have a child, but I think I'll miss the law too much.

I would love to hear the joys and hardships of being a SAHM.
  2. I have 2 kids and I think how much better it'd be for them if I SAH. But kids grow up fast, and I don't want to lose my skills. So I cut down my schedule a bit so I can be with them for breakfast and evening/dinnertime and tuck them in at night. And quite honestly, I have such profound respect for SAHMs now because taking care of the kids full time is more exhausting that my roughest day! Cheers to those of you who do it!!
  3. I didnt plan on becoming a SAHM but when my son was born I couldnt see myself leaving him. Some sort of maternal gene kicked in and it just seemed unatural for me to leave him. That was 11 years ago and I now have 3 kids and Im so glad I stayed home for them. The joys are countless but the thing I miss most sometimes is the adult conversation, etc. But I make sure to have time for myself to do things socially and just get out.
  4. I just resigned from my position and will be a SAHM starting early September. My son is 12 months old and I went back to work full-time when he was 11 weeks. It was a hard decision because my job is actually pretty good for working mothers and allowed me to work from home 2 days a week. But I just felt like I was missing out on so much of his life. He's only going to be a baby once and there will always (hopefully) be a job out there for me. I'll try it out and see how it goes. I know that this will be the hardest job I've ever had.