BV tags...what do they mean?

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Since the search feature has been disabled, I hope this topic has not been beaten to least recently. I am a newbie, and would like a crash course in tag deciphering. It seems like BV tags are similar in format to Balenciaga. Here is the tag number from my first BV, a Ferro Sloane. I'm fairly certain that the first number indicates style, but that is all. I'm assuming the 2007 is year made.
    What does the rest mean?

172918 V7782 1106
    EPEV 2007 2224A

Do all BV bags have two lines of numbers? Do some smaller items (zip pouch, wallets, etc) have only one line? What's the scoop on the BV id system? Are there fakes that use known numbers over and over again, like there is on fake Fendi hologram tags?

2. I think it's a good idea to identify what this number means.... My OP sloane that I got from bluefly last year come in 1 number line, which is:
    172918 V7782 2530

My Camel Veneta has 2 lines of numbers, which is:
    115654 V0013 2640
    EPEV 2007 431 B

Can anyone check their bag & let us know the number, from there we can try to figure out the meaning..
  3. ^ After reading your post, I'm going to apply some powers of deduction, lol!
    Are you sure the Sloane only had one line? Could the second be hidden?

172918 (style?) V7782 (type of leather) 1106 (color?)
    EPEV (huh?) 2007 (year) 2224A (huh?)
  4. ^ Most of the older BV's have only one line of codes whereas the bags released last season have 2 lines. I recently sold a medium veneta from 05 with one authentication line and my new large veneta has 2 lines. C-24 or boxermom are good at identifying the various numbers. I believe it's style code and colour code as you mentioned plus now they've started adding a date code as well.

So, 172918 is the style code for the sloane and the last 4 digits on that line are the colour codes.