Buying a New Puppy Online???

1. Does anyone have any advice for buying a puppy online from a breeder? I have never done it before and I put a deposit on a Shorkie Puppy but now I'm getting a little nervous and feeling that I really don't know anything about the breeder. They live in MO and I'm currently in California so it's not like I can go by and see their place and their puppies. :confused1: I googled them and they have ads on a bunch of websites but I don't know how to protect myself from being scammed. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :ty:

2. I hope you reconsider buying your dog from a web site. First off, there is no such breed as a Shorkie. Some enterprising lowlifes figured out they could pass off mixed-breed dogs as "designer dogs" and sucker people out of hundreds, even thousands, of dollars. Yorkshire Terriers and Shih tzu are both great breeds and there is no rational reason to crossbreed them and pretend it's a new breed.

I would consider anyone who does this to be a puppy mill, not a real breeder.

If you want a mixed-breed, please go to your local shelter where the dogs really need homes and the adoption fees are much lower than what these people are asking for their mixes.

3. :yes: i would be less worried about getting scammed monetarily speaking than i would be about buying from a puppy mill....which it totally sounds like this place is. reputable breeders sometimes have websites but you can't "order" a puppy from them....and they never advertise via links/ads. usually you find them through the AKC website and they only breed purebred puppies (taking great care to only breed dogs whose traits will better the breed overall). the individual breeder website is more for their show titles and information to contact them in person. imho there are no reputable breeders of mixed breed puppies.