Burned, bitter and not trusting anyone

1. I'm fairly new to the world of LV and have done quite a bit of research about buying used bags here and on several other authentication guide sites and from sellers such as Fashionphile etc. Here is my cautionary tale:

I had told a few friends that I was in the market for an LV purse. Anyway, yesterday I got a call from a friend of a friend saying she had a Cabas Piano for sale. This girl is a university student and she told me the bag was a gift from her parents who bought it at an LV store in Maui a couple of years ago. I went to meet her and look at the bag. Because it was too dark in the coffee house to see it properly, we went to her nearby apartment -- a luxury waterfront apartment -- and I compared the bag to a few Cabas Pianos that had been authenticated online. The bag looked good with normal wear and tear but I was troubled by the placement of the D-ring and the date code that read F0101. The D-ring was on the side of the purse, not in the inside pocket, and the date code was on a leather loop on the other side of the bag with the model number on side and the "code" on the other. The interior wasn't brown canvas but beige vachetta, and the inside pocket was lined with an odd kind of yellow synthetic.

I pointed these discrepancies out to her and she said she didn't know about the details of the purse, but that her parents bought her the bag at an LV store, and that she wanted to sell it because she never used it. She said she wasn't selling it on e-bay because she'd had problems there before -- didn't specify what -- and that her parents weren't the type to buy a bag that was a fake. She said her mother had lots of LVs and that as they lived in a different province, wouldn't realize that she no longer had their gift (I'd asked her why she would sell a gift, or at least not keep it until she felt like she wanted to use it).