Best routine???

1. So here is it - I want to lose weight!! Overall I have a ton of weight I want to lose (50lbs) slowly but surely from now through memorial day, which I think is do-able. For now though, i'd really love to kick start my weight loss with a great workout (but not using weight equipment as the gym where I live doesn't have any- only has a few cardio machines) I heard that running for an hour daily along with a 1400 cal diet was the way to go... Does anybody have any suggestions on a better routine that is just as basic??:shrugs:

ps Sorry if this post sounds jumbled but its almost like I can't get my exact thoughts on this written! (I'm currently working on my history thesis so my brain is elsewhere!):p

2. whew! i don't think i could run for an hour---i'd die of boredom!
    running is a very good way to loose tho.
    i would aslo and in some weight training---muscle burns fat.
    im just starting out too. i don't have alot of weight to loose--maybe 10-15lbs. im trying to get in better shape. i started w/power walking and 3lb weights, crunches and pushups.
    good luck!!!

3. Running always has gotten me in the best shape. I would try to incorporate Nola's routine--like run a few sprints on the treadmill, then hop off and pump out as many pushups as you can, hop back on and bang out a few more sprints, then hop off, and do crunches or squats/lunges. It is good to alternate and since you would be doing it in intervals, you will know that you only have to run for a few minutes before a break.

4. First of all, do a search on this. It's been discussed multiple times. Secondly, how tall are you? We need to know this so we can give you a realistic caloric intake