Bare Escentuals & Skin Tone

1. I've never used foundation (I'm 24 years old) but recently my skin looks washed out and my face just seems tired looking. I'm at the end of graduate school and I think all of the stress is starting to show.

I've heard really great things about BE and I've read some posts from this board. I really like the SPF 15 being included, as well as the natural look and mineral aspects.

I want to buy the getting started kit since I'm a beginner and have no idea what I'm doing. My only problem is I'm really not sure what skin tone to purchase and I don't want to get something too dark or too light. I know I'm somewhere between light and medium.. but I'm just worried.

When you first purchased BE did you consult someone in the store or compare photographs to their chart or what? Sorry if this is a silly post! I'd rather buy online to avoid NYC sales tax.. haha.

Here is the most recent picture I have for reference.. but I'm not really sure if a picture is an accurate way to decide. Puffy eyes :/

2. Find your skin tone first. If your veins show through your skin as green, your tone is yellow. You would want to use light which is warm toned. If your veins show blue, you are more neutral/pink in which case the medium would be better for your tone. If you want to darken up your foundation, you could mix some warmth into it.
    BE is forgiving, so you are bound to find the right shade.
  3. I bought it at sephora and had a SA help me pick a color. She put it on my whole face and in the store it looked kind of weird so I decided to walk around the mall and see how I looked in different types of lighting. It turned out that the color was correct but maybe the lighting was off in Sephora. I'd suggest getting a SA to help you out.