Aussies take note! Norovirus takes its toll (on me)

1. Well I woke up yesterday (after staying with family up the coast over the weekend) with a temperature and a headache. I went to work today feeling a little off and my stomach became sorer and sorer.

I went home (thank god) at about midday, and have been sick every 2 hours ever since. I'm already stuggling to maintain my weight so this is quite dangerous for me.

I just thought I'd take this chance to warn any aussies to make sure you thoroughly wash your hands before touching your mouth - apparently this is a very contagious version...

2. Hi Bella, sorry to hear you're feeling so sick. I'm a Paramedic, and was in a city a few weeks ago when the norovirus first became a pandemic there.. whenever leaving or entering the norovirus ward at the Hospital we had to scrub in and scrub out.

Then two weeks ago I had similar symptoms to what you've mentioned above - I'd woken up with them - and it progressed so rapidly through the day that by 10 o'clock I had begun fainting from fluid loss, and later in the afternoon I was admitted to hospital with borderline renal failure from losing so much fluid so quickly. They gave me 5L of fluid before I passed anything again, which is replacing more than my entire circulating blood volume - I only weigh 50kg, so have a rough volume of 4L!! Whilst obviously I'd not lost the whole amount, that's how much it took to get my kidneys to start producing anything again, as they were shutting down. Scary stuff, but luckily the fluid got me going again and I was okay to go home the next afternoon, though I still took a few days to fully recover.