As luck would have it...

1. I finally purchased a b-bag (cornflower first) and guess what? The transmission in my car decided to die. Estimated cost to fix is $3,500. Geeeeez!!!! I'm an elementary teacher totally addicted to style and am now torn between being sensible (list the bag to sell the minute it arrives) and indulgent (keep the dream bag). My husband and I have a joint account and I have my own, to spend as I choose from the money I make (which is where the funds for the bag came from). But I feel really selfish now with such a high-end purchase. Any words of wisdom?

2. Aw, I'm so sorry to hear this, TTucker. :sad: If you can afford to keep the bag *and* pay the transmission, I say keep your dream bag. You aren't being selfish if you can afford it. But, if you won't be able to fix your car unless you sell your bag, then sadly, I would suggest that you sell it. There will be another bbag for you later. If you like blues, the upcoming Blue India/Blue Grey looks very pretty. :yes:

3. ttucker, these are my thoughts- will you and your hubby be able to fix the car without you having to sell your bag? if so, if it is your money that you earned, i don't see any problem with keeping it.

personally, as long as main priorities are taken care of and they're not digging themselves into debt, i think people should be allowed to spend $ on themselves as they see fit.

if your conscience will continue to bother you though, sell the bag- a handbag isn't worth the emotional struggle in the grand scheme of things! (i try to repeat this mantra to myself though it doesn't always work...:shame:smile:

4. I agree with PupsterPurse and Jennifer .... if you can afford to keep the bag I say keep it and enjoy it. This is what we work so hard for .... little pleasures in life. However, if keeping it will cause a hardship for you then I say return it or sell it.

5. yeppers, i agree with Kat, pup & *jennifer*, best of luck to you :tender: