ARGHHH!!! Paycheck woes!!!

1. Sorry, I just have to vent!! I'm a grad student at a big public university, so I both work for the university and am a student in an academic department. I receive a meager salary 9 months out of the year for my efforts, and supplement that salary with a variety of part-time jobs. So I just found out today that because of a miscommunication between payroll and the grads in the department that my paycheck is getting greatly reduced this month. Apparently the department just expected me to "know" that I wouldn't be getting a paycheck as usual. I won't get into the details of the miscommunication (it has to do with fellowship funding, which many dissertating grad students receive), but basically the department didn't tell us that we wouldn't be receiving our normal paychecks. I'm one of the few lucky ones who has a little bit of cash lying around, but geez, we make a little under $1600 a month (keep in mind we have to save for the 3 months we're not paid too), now it's been reduced to under $800 for January. Nobody's going to be able to pay their bills. I can't tell you how <bleepin> tired I am of this kind of stuff...this summer I had my salary spontaneously "changed" without the department telling me (I lost money of course, the department just assumed that I wasn't putting in as much work to teach a summer class as one conducted during the year, NOT TRUE), and now this. I don't know why I'm working so hard to get a job at ANOTHER university :cursing: ! I just want to get somewhere where I am given at least a little respect as an employee!!!
  2. Oh my. You do have a contract, don't you? Then they have to honor it. I know labor law is very different in the U.S. but that should be a basic principle?
  3. I remember the days as a grad student. These experiences are why you want to finish your dissertation "on time" and get on with it!